TDP votes against 3 Capitals idea in Legislative Council

The Telugu Desam Party-dominated Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council adopted a resolution opposing Chief Minister Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy’s three capitals proposal. After a day-long drama, the Council took up the debate on the contentious issue under Rule 71 and passed a resolution with 27 members from the TDP supporting, 13 opposing and nine opting out of voting.
Notably, two TDP MLCs, Pothula Sunitha and Sivanath Reddy, switched over sides and voted against the resolution, while another TDP member, D. Manikya Varaprasad, resigned from his membership and party, before the vote. Two TDP members, Samantha-kamani and Satrucharla Vijayarama Raju abstain-ed from voting on health grounds.
The Council, which had already taken up the three capitals Bill and the APCRDA Repeal Bill for consideration, would resume debate on the Bills on Wednesday. However, uncertainty over the fate of the two Bills in the Council and the follow-up action that might be required of the government on relocating the cap