AP Elections 2019: Two more Congress leaders join TDP

After senior Congress leaders from Andhra Pradesh Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy and Kishore Chand Deo joined the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP), two other key Congress leaders are set to follow suit. According to TDP sources, former union minister Panabaka Lakshmi and former Congress MP from Amalapuram Harsha Kumar joined the party as there is no alliance between the Congress and TDP in the state assembly polls. 
TDP sources say that the party chief N. Chandrababu Naidu had chalked out a plan to field Panabaka Lakshmi from Tirupati Lok Sabha constituency even before she had joined the party formally. Yesterday, Panabaka along with her husband Krishnaiah met the Chief Minister in Amaravati and formally joined the party. Panabaka Lakshmi is a four-time MP who won from Nellore Lok Sabha constituency and then was shifted to Bapatla n 2009, where she won again. 
Meanwhile G.V. Harsha Kumar, is considered to be a strong Dalit face from the Konaseema region in East Godavari district and hence, the TDP has decide to field him from Amalapuram Lok Sabha constituency. Earlier, TDP leadership had planned to give the Amalapuram Lok Sabha ticket to former Lok Sabha Speaker G.M.C. Balayogi’s son, Hareesh Mathur but now that Harsha Kumar has entered the fray, Hareesh may be given assembly ticket from Amalapuram, say party sources.
The political circles in Andhra are rife with gossip that these Congress leaders who are planning to shift to the Telugu Desam Party know very well that it is tough for the Congress to survive in the current political scenario. Hence, the plans to shift to TDP which could at least guarantee their political future for a few more years.  

Photo Gallery