Pawan Kalyan to contest from Gajuwaka

After declaring the party candidates from various constituencies, Jana Sena Party (JSP) chief and actor-turned-politician has decided to contest from Gajuwaka Assembly segment in Visakhapatnam district in the upcoming elections. Earlier, Pawan Kalyan announced that he would fight from Anantapur.
Sources said that Kalyan had taken the decision under duress from the party cadre, who reminded that it was the stronghold of the Praja Rajyam Party, launched and merged with the Congress by his brother and Telugu movie star K. Chiranjeevi.
Another probable reason behind finalising Gajuwaka could be Pawan’s popularity among the youth in that area. A day after the EC announced the poll schedule, the JSP declared party candidates for three Assembly constituencies. The party’s manifesto is also in the final stages as it would be made public by the party chief very soon.
In 2014, Pawan had campaigned for the TDP-BJP alliance. Later, he distanced himself away from the alliance alleging that Telugu Desam Party president and Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu did very little to secure Special Category Status (SCS) to Andhra Pradesh despite having an alliance with the BJP-led NDA in the Centre. The Election Commission had allotted glass tumbler as the party symbol. 

Photo Gallery