TDP won’t contest Lok Sabha polls in Telangana

For the first time in its 37-year history, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has decided not to contest the Lok Sabha elections in Telangana. 
The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has always wanted the TDP not to exist in Telangana and has worked towards finishing the party’s political future in the state. Accordingly, the TRS had seen that a majority of the TDP leaders had joined their party in the last few years, weakening it substantially in Telangana.
The latest TDP leader and party’s politburo member to switch sides to the TRS is veteran leader Nama Nageswara Rao, who had been the party’s candidate from Khammam constituency. Now, Nageswara Rao is the TRS nominee for the Khammam LS constituency.
TDP, the ruling party in Andhra Pradesh, had been at loggerheads with the BJP government at the Centre for denying special category status to the state. According to sources in the party, the TDP had agreed to the Congress’ request for support in the Assembly and Parliamentary polls.
In December last, the TDP contested the Assembly polls in Telangana, in an alliance with the  Congress, CPI and Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS). However, the alliance of these parties did not fare well in the polls. TDP and Congress secured 2 and 19 seats  respectively in the 119-member strong Assembly.  The CPI and TJS did not win at least one seat each.

Photo Gallery