Cyclone Fani likely to make a landfall on May 4

The Meteorological department’s forecast that the Cyclone Fani was heading towards the Central Odisha coast made the AP government sound red alert for north and coastal mandals of Srikakulam on May 2 and May 3. Very heavy rainfall, accompanied with gales that can reach up to the speed of 120 kmph, is predicted for Srikakulam and Vizianagaram districts and scattered showers over Visakhapatnam, coastal areas of East Godavari. 
Andhra Pradesh Weather Forecasting and Early Warning Research Centre (AWARE), a division of Real Time Governance State Centre (RTGS), has already alerted all the districts with about the severe cyclonic storm. RTGS is monitoring the situation 24x7 through surveillance cameras in coastal areas.
AWARE, Alert Management System and 1100 Parishkara Vedika call centre are ready to handle the situation. Fishermen have been advised not to venture into the sea and people too have been cautioned not to go into the sea as it is extremely rough. AP Chief Secretary L.V. Subrahmanyam also reviewed the situation and spoke to the officials on the preparedness of the district administration in Srikalkulam, Vizag and Vizianagaram.
The RTGS further stated that Fani is extremely severe tropical cyclone located over southwest Bay of Bengal, about 360 degree south east of Machilipatnam and tracking in the northward direction, began re-curving and is expected to intensify till Thursday morning (with peak intensity 200 kmph) with north eastward movement towards off north coastal Andhra and coastal Odisha.
MeT department officials expect Fani to make a landfall in Central Odisha coast between Puri and Paradip in the afternoon on May 3 and further move along the coast and cross the land between north coastal Odisha and extreme south coastal West Bengal on May 3 midnight or early hours of May 4, accompanied by strong winds that can blow at 150 kmph speed.
The various mandals in AP that could be affected include Ichapuram, Kanchili, Kaviti, Mandasa, Nandigama, Palasa, Polaki, Santabommali, Sompet, Vajrapukothuru and Srikakulam in Srikakulam district, apart from Bhogapuram, Chipurupalli, Denkada, Gantyada, Garividi, Gurla, Merakmudi, Nellimarla, Pusapatirega and Terlam mandals in Vizianagaram district.

Photo Gallery