Exit polls make mixed predictions for TDP, YSRCP in AP

With the last phase of polling ending on Sunday, exit polls were out by the evening and in Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha elections, it seems to be a close fight for 25 MP seats between the ruling Telugu Desam and the Opposition  YSR Congress.  The Assembly and Lok Sabha polls were held in the state on April 11, in the first phase.’
The Times Now –VMR exit polls predicted 7 and 18 seats for the TDP and YSRC respectively and no seats for the JSP alliance. The Republic-Cvoter exit poll predicted that the TDP, YSRCP and JSP alliance would get 14, 11 and 10 seats respectively. 
The India Today-My Axis poll predicted 4 to 6 seats for the TDP and 18 to 20 seats for the YSRC. It said that the others would win 0-1 seats. 
The Republic-Jan Ki Baat polls foresee a victory for the YSRC with 13-16 seats and said that the TDP would win 8-12 seats. It is also said that the TDP’s share would be 41% while that of the YSRC would be 46%.
Today’s Chankya predicted that the TDP would win 14-20 seats, YSRC would secure 5-1 seats. The exit polls did not make a mention of Jana Sena and said the Congress and BJP could bag 0 and 2seats each.
NewX-Neta exit poll predicted 20 seats for the YSRC and 5 to the TDP while the CNN News 18-ISPOS predicted 10-12 seats for the TDP and 13-1 for the YSRC. The BJP is likely to get 1 seat while the Congress would get none, the exit polls said.
The 2019 elections are the first in the residuary state of Andhra after bifurcation in 2014. In United AP, there were a total of 42 seats and it witnessed TDP win 16, TRS 11, YSRCP 9, BJP 3 and Congress 2. Later, many MPs defected from the YSRCP to the TDP. Ahead of the polls, there was reverse exodus of legislators and senior politicians.
The YSRCP, which aims to be voted to power and win a majority from the state in the Parliament too is banking on the success of the Praja Sankalpa Yatra, a 3,648-km walkathon taken up by the party president Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy. It took more than a year for him to complete the yatra which covered all the districts in the state. 
Meanwhile, the TDP hopes to prove its critics wrong for which it has renominated several of its sitting MPs, to say that there is little anti-incumbency in the state.
The voters had a third option of the Jana Sena Party, in alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Left parties, on the ballot. Prominent among the party’s candidate was former CBI joint director V.V. Lakshminarayana who was fielded from Vizag and JSP chief’s brother Naga Babu from the Narsapuram constituency.
The BJP and the Congress have very bleak chances of winning from the state but these parties too fielded some seniors in the hope of winning seats. The Congress fielded seasoned politician and former Union minister Vyricherla Kishore Chandra Suryanarayana Deo, a six-time MP, from Araku while the BJP opted for former CM and TDP founder late N.T. Rama Rao’s daughter, Daggubati   Purandeswari from Vizag.

Photo Gallery