Poll results leave KCR dispirited

The Lok Sabha poll results dispirited Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao as his plans to form a Federal Front at the Centre were nipped in the bud and his daughter suffered a defeat in the Lok Sabha polls. These apart, his party, Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), poor performance than expected also left Rao disappointed.
Gaining  ground in the state, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wrested three seats from the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) and retained one seat while the Congress also wrested two seats from the ruling party and retained one.
The TRS could win only nine out of the total 17 seats while its ally All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Mulimeen (AIMIM) retained Hyderabad. In 2014, the TRS bagged 11 seats while three MPs from other parties had later switched loyalties to the ruling party. The BJP improved its tally from one to four while the Congress increased its numbers from two to three.
KCR’s daughter K. Kavitha faced defeat in Nizamabad at the hands of BJP’s D. Arvind. The BJP also wrested the Adilabad and Karimnagar seats from the TRS. In Karimnagar, TRS senior leader Vinod Kumar lost to the BJP’s Bandi Sanjay Kumar by 89,508 votes.
The Congress wrested Bhongir from the TRS as its senior leader Komatireddy Venkat Reddy defeated sitting MP B. Narsaiah Goud. In Chevella, The Congress candidate Konda Vishweshwar Reddy lost to G. Ranjith  Reddy of the TRS. Reddy is a businessman and one of the richest MPs in the previous Lok Sabha. In 2014, he was elected from this constituency on a TRS ticket but shifted loyalties to the Congress recently.
In Khammam, the Congress senior leader and former Union minister Renuk Chowdary suffered defeat at the hands of Nama Nageswara Rao of the TRS. With the BJP securing a huge majority on its own, KCR’s plans to form a “non-Congress, non-BJP” front of regional parties lies in tatters. KCR was gearing up to be the king-maker anticipating a hung verdict at the Centre.
Rao met his counterparts in West Bengal and Odisha, Mamata Banerjee and  Naveen Patnaik respectively, DMK president M.K. Stalin and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, as part of his outreach to the opposition parties. However, he did not receive support from them except Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy of the YSR Congress.
His decision to advance the Assembly polls eight months before its expiry last year was hailed as a “master-stroke” as the TRS romped back to power securing 88 seats in the 119-member House. Rao did this thinking that national issues would overshadow those of the state if elections were held simultaneously. 

Photo Gallery