Re-polling at 5 booths booths in AP to be held on May 6

The Election Commission decided to conduct re-polling in five polling booths in Andhra Pradesh on May 6. AP Chief Electoral Officer Gopal Krishna Dwivedi said re-polling will be held in booths located in Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore districts. He had sent proposals regarding the same to the Election Commission in New Delhi. 
The collectors of three districts suggested re-polling following violence at the booths, malfunctioning of EVMs or other circumstances that prevented the electorate from casting their vote.
The ECI had decided to go for re-polling considering the reports submitted by the returning officers, political observers and after taking all facts and material circumstances into account, said Principal Secretary S.K. Rudola to CEO G.K. Dwivedi.
The re-polling would be held for the Assembly and Parliamentary polls at one polling booth  in Narsaraopet Assembly and Parliamentary constituency, one under the Guntur Parliament seat and Guntur West Assembly constituency and another under the Yerragondapalem Assembly and Ongole Lok Sabha seat. 
Voting would take place only for the Lok Sabha seat in Kovvur Assembly segment under the Nellore Parliament seat and Sullurpeta Assembly constituency under the Tirupati Parliamentary constituency.
Elections for 175 Assembly and 25 Parliamentary constituencies were held in a single phase in Andhra Pradesh on April 11.This was the first general election in the state after bifurcation in June, 2014.
As many as 319 candidates contested for the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies and 2,118 for the 175 Assembly constituencies. 
The highest voter turnout was recorded in the Narsaraopet LS constituency where 85.53 per cent voting was registered. 
Meanwhile, lowest turnout of 67.25 per cent was registered in Visakhapatnam constituency. The previous elections conducted in undivided Andhra Pradesh registered 74.64 per cent polling.

Photo Gallery