YSRCP seals Tirupati Bypoll win; BJP’s luck goes for a toss in temple

YSR Congress Party candidate Gurumurthy has won Tirupati Lok Sabha byelection with an astonishing victory, surprising everyone. He won by over 2.71 lakh votes against his opponent and TDP candidate Panabaka Lakshmi.
According to sources, 6,26,108 votes were polled for YCP’s Gurumurthy, TDP MP candidate and former Union Minister Panabaka Lakshmi secured 3,54,516 votes whereas BJP and Janasena candidate Ratna Prabha got meagre 56,280 votes. 
Congress candidate and former MP Chinta Mohan got meagre 9,549 votes. Interestingly, NOTA got more votes than the Congress —  15,568 votes were polled for NOTA.
While YSRCP bagged 56.67 percent of votes, TDP got 32.09 percent of the vote share while the BJP-Janasena alliance secured 5.17 percent. Congress got meagre 0.54 percent. NOTA has got 1.41 percent. 
If one observes the BJP-Jana Sena combine, it is a clear indication that Jana Sena is further worsening its vote share by allying with the BJP. Had the party contested alone, it could have saved its face in the state. 
With this majority, YSRCP has retained its strength in Lok Sabha with 23 MPs. However, the TDP and other parties still contest that the entire election was rigged with video evidence of outsiders and fake voters flooding booths on behalf of the YSRCP on the polling day.
For beginners, Dr M. Gurumurthy is none other than Jagan’s personal physiotherapist. Gurumurthy had served Jagan during his padayatra. Keeping his services in mind, Jagan had offered him to contest as Tirupati MP candidate on YSRCP ticket.
TRS retains Nagarjuna Sagar seat: 
Meanwhile, in Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll in Telangana, TRS candidate Nomula Bhagat has won by 18,872 votes majority. After counting 25 out of 25 rounds, TRS candidate Nomula Bhagat got 89,804 votes whereas Congress candidate Jana Reddy got 70,932 votes and BJP got just 7676 votes. TDP got meagre 1,714 votes whereas NOTA got 498 votes. With this, TRS has bagged Nagarjuna Sagar seat and successfully retained its strength in the Assembly.

Photo Gallery